Skip navigation

And here I go, losing my control. I’m practicing your name so I can say it to your face. It doesn’t seem right, to look you in the eye,  let all the things you mean to me come tumbling out my mouth. Indeed it’s time to tell you why I say it’s infinitely true” – SWAY (Bic Runga)

 …. So I’ve been playing these three songs constantly both at work and at home since that Sunday night in Yoko. Didn’t I say I’m an extremist sometimes … Compared to all the hip hop songs I’d been listening to earlier this year, these not-so-modern songs are so much softer and filled with more emotions … That’s probably why they still haven’t bored me. In a way, they remind me of the first time I started to listen to English songs. Back then, I even wrote down the lyrics of all the songs I liked in a green hard-cover book and carried it with me to school. Most of them were songs of Whitney Houston, Air Supply, New Kids On The Block, The Carpenters, Bee Gees …. I used to hate Mariah Carey cos her music was too cheesy; and surprisingly, most of her recent hit songs have become my favorite now. Her music is different, and I’m also so much different now. Yet, the old goodies still sound so sweet …

“Wild World” – Mr. Big
Now that I’ve lost everything to you. You say you want to start something new. And it’s breaking my heart you’re leaving. Baby I’m grieving. And if you wanna leave, take good care. Hope you have a lot of nice things to wear. A lot of nice things turn bad out there.

Oh baby, baby, it’s a wild world. It’s hard to get by just upon a smile. Oh baby, it’s a wild world. I’ll always remember you like a child, girl.

You know I’ve seen a lot of what the world can do. And it’s breaking my heart in two. Coz I never want to see you sad girl. Don’t be a bad girl. But if you wanna leave, take good care. Hope you make a lot of nice friends out there. Just remember there’s a lot of bad ass and beware. Baby I love you

“Back To You” – Bryan Adams

I’ve been down – I’ve been beat. I’ve been so tired that I could not speak. I’ve been so lost that I could not see. I wanted things that were out of reach. Then I found you and you helped me through. And ya showed me what to do. And that’s why I’m comin’ back to you…
Like a star that guides a ship across the ocean, that’s how your love will take me home back to you. And if I wish upon that star – someday I’ll be where you are. I know that day is coming soon – ya, I’m coming back to you.

You’ve been alone, but ya did not show it. You’ve been in pain, but did not know it. Let me do what I needed to – you were there when I needed you. Mighta let you down, mighta messed you round. But ya never changed your point of view. And that’s why I’m comin’ back to you…

Leave a Reply

