Skip navigation

It’s been so long since I last woke up this early ….The morning chill is in the air …. and probably this is the best time to have some steamy hot noodle soup …. However, my recco is actually steamed broken rice *_* …..

Where do you find the best steamed broken rice?
Hmmm, it’s really hard to judge …. and I definitely have not been to all the broken rice places in Saigon …. However, the few places listed below will surely have some very yummie dishes to offer:

_ Cơm Tấm Kim Châu – which is right opposite to the only church on Nguyễn Thái Bình street – District 1, and of course, very very near my place. Kim Châu has been around for 20 years or so. Both the previous owners and the current ones are my neighbors. They got the best roasted pork and steamed egg I’ve ever tried; therefore, the recco dish is: cơm tấm sườn chả.

_ Cơm Tấm Trần Quý Cáp on Võ Văn Tần street: decent roasted pork, very yummie bì, and the best topping they got is shredded salted fish – chà bông khô cá lóc. The most expensive topping one can find is probably the stir fried big prawns – which costs 75000-80000 per dish. I’ve never tried steamed broken rice with prawns as the traditional dish – sườn bì chả – is always the best. The place is open from morning til late in the evening, they even deliver boxed broken rice at a reasonable surcharge.

_ Cơm Tấm Ba Ghiền – Phú Nhuận District is the largest steamed broken rice place I’ve ever been to. Their piece of roasted pork was so big that it covered up all the rice in my dish. Honestly, their roasted pork didn’t taste as good as I expected and Kim Châu definitely beats Ba Ghiền in this category. The widely spread word-of-mouth had raised my expectation way too high.

_ Cơm Tấm Bà Hạt – District 10: My tutor took us here once when we were in junior high. The only thing I can recall about the place is its crowdedness. Looks like I’m making my second trip back there very soon

In Saigon, a lot of modern-looking steamed broken rice and Huế food restaurants are mushrooming. But then, nicer looks equal higher bills, but not better taste …. I guess it’ll take some time to fix this prob …. Until then, let us all enjoy the best of the best from all of those average-looking eateries …. After all, it’s the yummie-ness that counts …..

2 Comments

  1. bổ sung: Cơm tấm Mộc trên đường Lý Tự Trọng nữa cưng! Tuy mang tên là Mộc nhưng giá chẳng mộc tí nào cả😉

  2. Chị ui, em có nghe kể về quán đó rùi … nó tạm thời được xếp vào mấy quán đẹp đẹp, giá cũng đẹp đẹp, thức ăn thì hổng đẹp giống dzậy tí nào … hehe ….


Leave a Reply

